Terry Dowdall, new MP for Simcoe-Grey

 In News

Simcoe-Grey will be represented on Parliament Hill by Conservative Terry Dowdall.

Nationally, Canadians voted in a Liberal minority government but remained true blue locally.

“I am honoured to represent Simcoe-Grey and I look forward to working for those who voted for me and gaining the trust of the ones that didn’t in this election,” said Dowdall. “At the end of the day we need to work together to make sure the concerns of all the people in Simcoe-Grey will be represented and that’s what I’m looking forward to doing.”

Dowdall received 43.7 per cent of the vote, getting 9,072 more votes than Liberal candidate Lorne Kenney. The Green Party’s Sherri Jackson had a slim third over the NDP’s Ilona Matthews, with the PPC’s Richard Sommer in fifth and surprise candidate Tony D’Angelo, of the Veterans Coalition Party of Canada, getting only 281 votes.

Dowdall has one of 121 Conservative seats nationally, compared to the Liberals’ 157.

“Certainly I was hoping that we would get a majority but we are up [22] seats,” he said. “At the end of the day my main concern here is Simcoe-Grey and I want to make sure that whoever’s in government, that they know what we need to do over here in Simcoe-Grey and what our concerns are. Hopefully everyone can work together.”

Dowdall celebrated his win at the Nottawasaga Inn in Alliston where they were waiting for results late into the evening.

“It was fantastic to see so many volunteers that were a part of it, some were members of the party, and friends in general, show up for the event,” he said. “I was excited to see so many familiar faces out there and I am thankful for all their work and support.”

“I want to thank the other candidates that ran,” said Dowdall… “All of them ran a really great campaign. It was great to see. We got along quite well.”

In terms of next steps, Dowdall expected the call from Ottawa on Tuesday to arrange an orientation, and later, a swearing-in.

Election results

Simcoe-Grey votes
Conservative Terry Dowdall, 32,444
Liberal Lorne Kenney, 23,372
Green Party Sherri Jackson, 8,423
NDP Ilona Matthews, 8,320
PPC Richard Sommer, 1,386
Veterans Coalition Party Tony D’Angelo, 281
• 74,226 of 115,193 registered electors (64.44 per
cent) – does not include electors who registered on
election day.
• Population: 129,944
• Number of electors on list: 115,193

Dufferin-Caledon votes
Conservative Kyle Seeback, 28,729
Liberal Michele Fisher, 22,330
NDP Allison Brown, 7,822
Green Party Stefan Wiesen, 7,252
PPC Chad Ransom, 1,505
Christian Heritage Party Russ Emo, 318
• 67,956 of 106,138 registered electors (64.03 per
cent) – does not include electors who registered on
election day.
• Population: 128,237
• Number of electors on list: 106,138

National seats
Liberal, 157
Conservative, 121
Bloc Québécois, 32
NDP-New Democratic Party, 24
Green Party, 3
Independent, 1 (Jody Wilson-Raybould)

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment