Dufferin Arts Council announces Reed T. Cooper bursary winners

 In Community

It is with great pleasure that the Dufferin Arts Council has awarded two Reed T. Cooper bursaries to local artists Emily Escoffery of Mono and Deb Menken also of Mono. Emily is currently pursuing a Master of Fine Arts degree at the University of Ottawa and her current work is abstract visual art. This award will support her final thesis. Deb is heading off to the East Coast for a specialized artist retreat with access to stunning scenery to help develop her painting skills in landscape and abstract. 

“It’s always such an honour to be able to support our local, and already very talented artists” said DAC Chair Warren Maycock. “What amazing homegrown talent we have here in Dufferin. It was a delight to meet both of these women.”

DAC requests that bursary recipients do a talk/presentation at one of the members luncheons currently held several times per year at Mrs. Mitchells. “It’s a unique opportunity for our membership to follow the careers of our local artists and witness their artistic development,” added Warren.

The Reed Cooper bursary is awarded annually to a midcareer visual artist(s) in Dufferin County who has been working professionally for a minimum of five years, and who displays a unique talent and a potential for excellence. It was established by the Dufferin Arts Council’s (DAC) Artist Support Program to honour the artistic achievements of Reed T. Cooper and his many contributions to the local arts community.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment